The Adventures of Squirky the Alien

A Children's Book Series on Adoption

Our First Adoption Book

Leave a comment

know

Our first adoption book was one from Singapore: We Just Want You to Know by Andrea Yee, who is also an adoptive mother. She was one of the facilitators at the adoption disclosure talk my husband and I went for, and I found her so affirming that I just knew I had to pick up a copy of her book!

This has become one of C’s favourite books because there are plenty of animals featured here, and there is also this very reassuring and loving tone throughout the book.

knowtrio

At certain points in the book, you can add your own photos so the book becomes personalised. In fact, C calls this his “birthday book” because there’s a photo of him attempting to blow the candles out on his 1st birthday cake (and he never fails to re-enact that moment every time we reach that page).

I used to get quite weepy whenever I read this book (I partly blame sleep deprivation for this). I think it captures a love for a child so simply and sweetly.

I’m also wondering if there are other adoption books from Singapore?

Leave a Reply

